2023 NY Girls XC Preview: CHSAA

CHSAA Preview

It only took ten points to decide the fate of the Catholic Championships in 2022, with perennial favorite Saint Anthony's adding another title to their trophy case. They bring back three of their top five from a year ago, including their top runner Olivia Czoch. However, the field is fast approaching as the Friars look to replace their Seniors, and Sacred Heart, who only loses one Senior, will be looking to make up that ten point deficit.

Individually, the top three athletes are back once again. Sophomore's Katelyn Kliesch and Maeve Going both impressed on the track, finishing as the second and third fastest freshman in the State over the Middle Distances. That should prove useful for the shorter course at VCP, and we expect to see a big bump in performance for both of them.

Top 10 Teams at 2022 CHSAA Championship

Saint Anthony's 90Sacred Heart 100St. Francis Prep 141Kellenberg 151Our Lady of Mercy 160
Notre Dame (Manh.) 172Archbishop Molloy 176Mary Louis Academy 201St John the Baptist 234
St Joseph by the Sea 275
Top 5 Teams at 2022 Monsignor Martin All Catholic (Buffalo) Championship
Sacred Heart (Buff.) 32St Mary's 58 
Nardin Academy 69
Buffalo Seminary 93
Nichols School 111

Top 6 Teams from Last Year's Speed Ratings (TR) and Compression

Saint Anthony's 82 (38)

Sacred Heart 80.6 (60)

Sacred Heart (Buff.) 67.4 (28)

Archbishop Molloy 66.4 (49)

Notre Dame (Manh.) 62.8 (66)

Kellenberg 55.2 (30)

Top Returning Runners by Last Year's Speed Ratings (TR)

NameTeamGradeCHSAA PlaceSeason TR
Katelyn KlieschNotre Dame101124
Ava GumbSt. Joseph Hill123116
Maeve GoingSacred Heart102112
Fiona MurphyBuffalo Seminary121 (MMACC)100
Olivia CzochSaint Anthony's11598
Lucy BrucellaSacred Heart11894
Claire StoryDominican111193
Maggie McCabeNotre Dame(Manh.)111792
Riley GriffithSt. Anthony's121390
Leni MontesdeocaMary Louis Academy12987
Aoife GarveyArchbishop Molloy111486
Kristen SarnicolaSt. Joseph by the Sea121085
Kelsey NicholsKellenberg121683
Annalise OlsenSaint Anthony's112077
Julia WeyerNardin Academy102 (MMACC)77

Top Team Breakdowns