Katelyn Tuohy Named Gatorade New York Girls Cross Country Runner Of The Year


CHICAGO (January 29, 2018) - In its 33rd year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Katelyn Tuohy of North Rockland High School as its 2017-18 Gatorade New York Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year. Tuohy is the first Gatorade New York Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from North Rockland High School.   

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse, distinguishes Tuohy as New York's best high school girls cross country runner. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Tuohy joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Lukas Verzbicas (2010-11, 2009-10 Carl Sandburg, Orland Park, Ill.), Megan Goethals (2009-10, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Mich.), Jordan Hasay (2008-09, Mission College Prep., San Luis Obispo, Calif.) and Chris Derrick (2007-08, Neuqua Valley, Naperville, Ill.). 

- - -

The 5-foot-4 sophomore raced to the Nike Cross Nationals championship this past season, breaking the tape in a course-record time of 16:44.7. Tuohy also won the Class A individual state championship in a course-record 17:51.4, and finished first at the New York Federation Championships in 16:52.4. Undefeated on the season, she also beat a loaded field at the NXN New York Regional championships (17:01) in addition to winning the prestigious Manhattan Invitational.       

Tuohy has volunteered locally on behalf of youth soccer and running programs, and the Rose Memorial Library. "Katelyn has been an outstanding runner for me since her indoor season in seventh grade," said North Rockland coach Brian Diglio.  "She's progressed and improved her times in every event, in every season. She has the work ethic, the heart and the talent of a champion."       

Tuohy has maintained an A average in the classroom. She will begin her junior year of high school this fall. 

- - -

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport.  The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media
advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport. 

Tuohy joins Gatorade New York Girls Cross Country Runners of the Year Kelsey Chmiel (2016-17, Saratoga Springs High School), Jessica Lawson (2015-16 & 2013-14, Corning-Painted Post High School), Bella Burda (2014-15 & 2012-13, Arlington High School), Jillian Fanning (2011-12, Fayetteville-Manlius High School), Aisling Cuffe (2010-11 & 2009-10, Cornwall Central High School), and Emily Lipari (2008-09 & 2007-08, Roslyn High School) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007. 

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Tuohy will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a $1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional $10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants - one for each sport - will be announced throughout the year.  

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow the conversation on Twitter #GatoradePOY. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit http://playeroftheyear.gatorade.com/.