Villanova wins the DMR for the 24th time in Relays history


by Rich Sands from

photo by Tim Fulton

Albany's Christopher Burke set the pace on the opening 1200 leg, then Indiana's Chris Vaughn took control on the 400. IU's Daniel Stockberger set the pace for 600 meters of the 800 leg, before being overtaken by Arkansas' Duncan Phillips and Villanova's Samuel Ellison. On the anchor leg, Virginia Tech's Michael Hammond took the early lead with Villanova (Matthew Gibney), Arkansas (Dorian Ulrey), Indiana (Ben Hubers)  and BYU (Miles Batty) trailing. Albany's Paul Lagno joined the leaders with two laps to go and took the lead on the penultimate backstretch. Batty powered into the lead with 200 meter to go, but had no response for Gibney and Ulrey.

Villanova clocked 9:37.93 off these splits: Brian Tetreault (2:57.86), Carlton Bowers (46.89), Samuel Ellison (1:51.03), Matthew Gibney (4:02.16)