2017 NY Girls XC Preview: Class B

Top 2017 Returning Runners by Last Year's TR Rating
Name Team GradeSection States Place Season TR
Katherine LeeShoreham-Wading River12111148
Elizabeth LucasonCamden834135
Caroline TimmOur Lady of Lourdes1213134+
Noreen GuilfoyleMount Sinai12117126
Mary BorkoskiPearl River11116125
Sarah ConnellyMount Sinai101113125
Maddie HobikaPittsford Sutherland12515120
Pippa NuttallJohn Jay-Cross River1116120
Molly McLaughlinEast Aurora12621120
Rory GrahamBurnt Hills11210118
Samantha LawGreat Neck North1284118
Alison OtisMaine-Endwell11419118
Rebecca PreisserPittsford Sutherland11514117
Olivia LazarouAmsterdam122--117
Megan McLaughlinEast Aurora8623115
Alexandra ThomasTappan Zee11135113
Emily AtamanchukQueensbury122--111
Natalie WeinerRye10158110
Riley JonesPioneer12649110
Sonya KrezmienSpringville10610 (C)110
Amberlee RobertsonWilliamsville South12665109
Emily PahlSchalmont11259109
Sydney DeckerCornwall12933108
Carly WoelfelSouth Side10839108
Mya JuneSchalmont9240107
Jennifer MuiByram Hills91--107
Madison DelzellBayport-Blue Point111142107
Meredith HickmanCornwall11937107
Liz KesslerWesthill10341107
Haylei CoolicanWesthill11336107

Caroline Timm of Our Lady of Lourdes finished 3rd in the States B race last year, and she is pursued most closely here by 4th place finisher Elizabeth Lucason in light blue and senior 5th place finisher Eva Scott of Burnt Hills in maroon.

Section by Section Class A Overview
SectionTop Teams Notes
1Pearl River, John Jay-Cross River, Brewster, Tappan Zee, Byram HillsPearl River starts the season with the top ratings and depth in S1-B, but John Jay has won the last two titles after a season-long development, so this is very much up for grabs, with Brewster and Tappan Zee also stocking up.
2Burnt Hills, Schalmont, Queensbury, Mohonasen, Scotia-Glenville, Academy of the Holy NamesBurnt Hills should have enough to win its fourth straight S2-B crown, but Schalmont, Queensbury, and Mohonasen enter the season close enough behind to make this a challenging race.
3Westhill-Bishop Ludden, Jamesville-Dewitt, New Hartford, CamdenLast year's battle between the top two teams was close, but Westhill returns its top 7 while Jamesville-Dewitt lost frontrunner Hannah Butler.
4Maine-Endwell, Vestal, Owego, Johnson CityReigning S4-B champ Maine-Endwell will again have a pretty big edge in this battle.
5Pittsford Sutherland, Pittsford Mendon, MercyThe two Pittsford squads enter 2017 with almost the same rating and should battle it out in S5-B after the departure of reigning champ Canandaigua.
6East Aurora, Sweet Home, Williamsville South, City Honors, Starpoint, Pioneer, Springville, Albion, Lewiston PorterThere's a lot of depth in the S6-B field, but East Aurora will be a huge favorite here.
7Peru, BeekmantownPeru returns much of its squad and should win out easily over a slim Beekmantown team.
8South Side, North Shore, WantaghWith the departure of Manhasset, the S8-B title seems to be a pretty even battle between a South Side team seeking its first title in 15 years and perennial power North Shore.
9Cornwall, Goshen, Red HookCornwall and Goshen had a close contest last year, but the Dragons got hit less badly by graduation losses..
10Franklin AcademyFranklin (Malone) is the winner.
11Shoreham-Wading River, Mt. Sinai, Bayport-Blue Point, Sayville, Harborfields, Miller PlaceIn a deep S11-B, reigning state champ Shoreham-Wading River may be getting a big challenge from Mt. Sinai.

Skip To...

Top Individuals / Section by Section Guide

Teams 1-5 - Teams 6-10 - Teams 11-15